A place to share ideas about play in a Prep classroom

I Spy Sight Word Bottles

By the end of the year my preppies need to know 50 sight words. Here is one of the fun ways we revise the words that have already been taught……. I Spy Sight Word bottles.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I printed off and laminated the words according to what colour list they are from and put them in a plastic bottle filled to approx. 1/3 with rice. After the words are inside I topped off the bottle to approx.2/3 with more rice. This leaves enough room for the children to shake the bottles to find their words.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Some of the games we have played with them include I Spy where 1 child finds and names a word and the others find the word in their bottle and Bingo. In this game they have a bingo type card and need to write down the words they see . The first child to fill all the spaces on their card is the winner.

I first saw this idea on  Tunstalls Teaching Tidbits where she has lots of fabulous ideas for uses for discovery bottles. Here is the link.

http://www.facebook.com/l.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Ftunstalltimes.blogspot.com%2F2011%2F07%2Fdiscovery-bottles.html&h=IAQANDIbGAQA5yP_8YHSxgUuspQpz27L9ni037HkRpKIVyw

When I make the next set of bottles with words inside, I will make sure I print the word on both sides of the paper as this will make it easier for the children as they shake, turn and  the move the rice around inside the bottle.

Comments on: "I Spy Sight Word Bottles" (1)

  1. Nichole H said:

    We made i-spy bottles with letter beads and rainbow coloured rice as our last day of term activity. I hadn’t thought about using sight words. We played sight word splat a couple of weeks ago that proved to be lots of fun :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

