A place to share ideas about play in a Prep classroom

Sight Word Graphing

By the end of the year our preppies are required to know approx. 40 sight words and we have been working steadily towards achieving this outcome through play and the manipulation of  lots of concrete materials including our Sight Word Stones. We also have our sight words on Duplo bricks which the children can stack, sort and put together to make sentences and phrases.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Currently, one of our favourite activities is Sight Word Graphing using these blocks. This activity involves the children  in selecting a block from the Lucky Dip box, reading the word and recording it on a graph. If the children select a block with a sight word they have already read and recorded, this block is stacked on top of the first, creating a block graph to match their paper one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To make the blocks, I print out the words five times on labels and stick them to the side of the bricks/blocks. The random selection of the words using the Lucky Dip Box provides the children with the opportunity to explore and graph a variety of words. Some children may have 5 words on their graph and others up to 10, depending on what they draw out of the box. This creates lots of opportunities for numeracy discussions whilst the children compare and discuss their individual graphs. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is a sample of the Lucky Dip graph.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

As well as graphing the duplo blocks the children really enjoy graphing the results of a sight word hunt. On this sheet the children circle the same words in the same colour and fill in the graph accordingly. I like to use different fonts for this to provide opportunities for recognition of the sight word in differing forms and sizes to our beginners alphabet. I wonder if their enthusiasm for these activities is because the graphing provides them with a real life opportunity to use their numeracy understandings to record what they know.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love to be able to provide opportunities to combine  literacy and numeracy learning together, especially when the children eagerly participate in the activity as well. Sight Word Graphing seems to be one of those opportunities.

Comments on: "Sight Word Graphing" (5)

  1. Please contact me regarding the sight word graphing. This material is copyrighted at the Moffatt Girls blog. Thank you.
    Annie Moffatt

    • I’m sorry that you think I have breached your copyright but my post on sight word graphing does not contain any printables (for sale or for free) and the photos posted were of worksheets that I have created and used with my class for several months.
      The date of my post was in October and from the comments you sent me, your posting was dated in November, a month later.
      The idea of graphing sight words is one that has been used around our local school cluster for a long time and is not new so I don’t believe I have broken any copyright that you may have on the idea.
      If there is any similarity between the actual work sheets I believe it is a coincidence.
      I wish to assure you that I have never, nor do I have any intention of, receiving any financial gain from my post. It is simply, as with all my posts, an example of something I have done in my classroom. I do not even have a Teachers Pay Teachers account.
      I wish you well in selling your material.

      • Here is my very first post in August: http://moffattgirls.blogspot.com/2011/08/pre-primer-sight-word-graphing.html I would appreciate credit for my creation. I know that pinterest has tons of ideas, but this is original to me and you can easily google that and see the results. Teacher to teacher, I would really appreciate a link back to my blog as the “inspiration” to your idea. It just seems odd that you would have exact copies as mine. Perhaps you forgot where the idea came from, but please give my blog, with a link, the credit for the original creations.
        Thanks,
        Annie Moffatt

  2. Hi Annie, whilst I don’t believe my worksheets are exact copies of your creations, eg. if you look carefully at my photos there are no final count lines for the number of words (which by the way is a good idea) and a graph format is universal, I am happy to add a link to your Teachers pay Teachers site for readers to purchase your work. Selling ideas is not what I am interested in and as you say if you google sight word graphing you get lots of results.

  3. I have taught sight words Year 1 for over 12 years now and every year I have done an activity where the children graph their sight words, whether it be from a dice with words on it, from text, from blocks as per the picture or other methods. My graphing sheet is almost idential to the one that Annie is claiming to be hers alone. I don’t think you need to worry at all about copyright. As you said, the graph format is universal.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 94 other followers

